2019 Election: NBC sanctions 45 stations

– NBC sanctioned 45 Stations over violation of broadcasting codes

– The Sanctioned TV Stations include big stations like AIT, TVC, Channels among others

The National Broadcasting Commission NBC in a statement made public disclosed that it has sanctioned 45 Television Stations for violating the broadcasting codes during the 2019 General Election.

According to the statement which was released by the Director General of the Commission, Mallam Is’haq Modibbo during a press conference today in Abuja, he disclosed that the sanctioned stations cut across all part of the country and have been fined to a tune of 500,000 naira.

The report made it known that top Television stations like NTA, Channels, TVC and AIT were among the TV Stations which were sanction, radio stations were not left out.

Below is an extract of the statement released by the commission,

“Despite our various interventions, at the end of the Presidential election which was held on 23, Feb. 2019, 45 stations were found culpable of infractions on the provision of the Nigeria Broadcasting Code and have been sanction accordingly.

Learn Also: US congratulate Pres. Buhari and other contestant for their peaceful participation in the 2019 Presidential election

“We gave them the highest level of sanction under the NBC, which is to make them to pay N500,000 each and the cut across the entire country.

“NBC also sanction stations that allowed politicians to utter abusive, inciting and provocative statements during rallies.”

The National Broadcasting Commission also made it known that any TV stations that refuses to conduct itself by the broadcasting standards codes of conduct will be shut down.

According to the NBC, the sanction became necessary as the country is set to conduct another election at the state level.

It also disclosed that a National Monitoring System has also been set up which include all members of the board of management of the NBC to monitor stations on 24 hours basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *