Acting CJN Mohammed Tanko swears in 250 Tribunal Judges

– Acting CJN, Mohammed Tanko has sworn in 250 Election Petition Tribunal Judges 

– This comes barely 24 hours after Walter Onnoghen was suspended by the Federal Government

According to a new report, the acting Chief Judge of Nigeria, Justice Mohammed Tanko has sworn in 250 Election Petition Tribunal Judges.

The acting CJN during the swearing-in ceremony which took place in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja on Saturday, urged the members of the election tribunals to discharge their duties with integrity, as well as the fear of God.

The newly sworn in 250 Election Tribunal Judges will be in charge of any petition submitted during and after the 2019 General Election.

According to the report, the suspended CJN, Walter Onnoghen was absent at the swearing ceremony, which originally should have been his duty prior to the suspension.

This latest development is coming 24 hours after Pres. Muhammadu Buhari suspended CJN Walter Onnoghen and in his place sworn in Justice Mohammed Tanko in an acting position pending the outcome of the Code of Conduct Tribunal CCT.

Read More: Whoever is not happy with the suspension of CJN Walter Onnoghen is corrupt – Abubakar Tsav

Walter Onnoghen is facing a non assets declaration charge before the Code of Conduct Tribunal.

The suspended CJN is charged for not disclosing his asset to which he claimed to have forgotten.

Pres. Muhammadu Buharu after suspending Walter Onnoghen noted that he took the decision based an order from the CCT.

This latest development might bring a change on the trending issue.

Prior to the swearing in ceremony, the Nigerian Bar Association had ordered the Federal Governement to revert the suspension within 7 days.

Some politicians like Femi Fani Kayode, Sen. Shehu Sanni, Ben Bruce among others have come to the support of the suspended CJN, Walter Onnoghe.

While the likes of Abubakar Tsav have supported the Federal Government on the decision it took.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *