Ahmad Lawan becomes Senate President of the 9th National Assembly

– Ahmad Lawan becomes the Senate President of the 9th National Assembly

– He had a total of 79 votes to defeat Sen. Ali Ndume , who polled 28 votes 

The 9th National Assembly was finally inaugurated on Tuesday after the 8th Assembly led by former Senate Pres., Bukola Saraki gave their valedictory speech last week.

After the inauguration, the Senator-elects had their open secret election to vote in the new Senate President, which was contested by two main contenders; Sen. Ahmad Lawan and Sen. Ndume Ali, both of whom are from the All Progressive Congress APC.

It was disclosed that about 107 senators were present at the inauguration, also former Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha was present but he was not allowed to be accredited.

Prior to the voting exercise the duo of Ahmad Lawan and Ali Ndume gave their speech to their fellow members on their roles as the next Senate President.

Following the election, Sen. Ahmad Lawan representing Yobe North 234hfg0 has been elected as the new Senate President.

The reports made it known that Lawan polled a total of  79 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ali Ndume, who polled 28  votes.

Ahmad Lawan will now succeed Bukola Saraki, who presided over the 8th Senate between 2015 and 2019.

Prior to the election Today, President Muhammadu Buhari had met with Sen. Ahmad Lawan and Sen. Danjuma Goje (who was previously also vying to become the Senate President) few days ago with Kaduna State Gov., Nasir El-Rufai in attendance.

The report made it known that Sen. Danjuma Goje stepped down for Sen. Ahmad Lawan after the meeting with the President.

iDonsabi is rewarding readers, find and send the code in this article to idonsabi@gmail.com to win a prize. *First-come, first-served.
Keep reading to win!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *