Ajax Denied Eredevise Title With League Declared Ended

Ajax have been denied the chance of rounding up with the Eredivise title following a recent announcement by the Dutch Prime Minister, Mark Rutte.

Relegation-condemned teams of ADO Den Haag and RAC Waalwijk will also not be dropping to the lower tier league.

The season has been been brought to a halt after the Coronavirus pandemic ended things prematurely. The current standings of the Eredivise will remain final.

Table toppers, Ajax who were favourites to land the Eredivise yet again have been denied the title, the first time the League will be without a winner in its 64-year history.

The last time no club was crowned Champion in Dutch football was as far back as World War II.

That decision to end the league with the current standings was made after European governing body, UEFA asked that the football federation in the Netherlands decide what teams will be awarded spots in next season’s European competitions.

Dutch giants, Ajax will head straight into Champions League qualification despite being level on points with AZ Alkmaar. The latter will however come in, in the second round of qualifiers.

Should the season have ended with Ajax s winners, the serial winners would have headed straight to the group stages. However, they have now settled for a qualifying round.

Third place Feyenoord will then head directly to the Europa league while Dutch outfits, PSV and Willem II will play the third and second round of Europa league qualifiers respectively.

The decision to hand Willem II an Europa league chnace was however a controversial one, seeing that they have played an extra game more than sixth-placed FC Utrecht who are only three points behind and more superior in goal difference.

FC Utretcht also had a solid chance of qualifying through the KNVB Cup. However, their final against Feyenoord could not hold due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *