CAF 2019: Mane, Salah And Aubameyang Headline 10-Man List

The trio of Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah and Aubameyang headline a 10-man shortlist for the 2019 CAF Player of the Year award.

The Premier League players ended last season as the highest goal scorers in England’s top-flight and have been duly recognized for their brilliant performances.

Salah, who’s now won the award two times on the spin is looking to scoop the award for the third consecutive time having helped Liverpool to Champions League success last term.

The Egyptian alongside his Liverpool teammate, Mane have formed a vital partnership for Liverpool helping them to Champions League and a narrow miss to Manchester City in the Premier League title race.

The duo along with Arsenal’s Aubameyang were tied at 22 goals to win the Premier League’s golden boot.

Manchester City star, Riyad Mahrez is also expected to be a major contender for the award, lifting the Premier league, FA Cup and League Cup last season.

SEE ALSO: ‘Why I Chose Mane For The Ballon D’Or – Messi

The winger who last won the award in 2016 was also a key part of the Algerian side that won the African Cup of Nations, their first victory since 1990.

Ajax duo of Hakim Ziyech and goalkeeper Onana were also on shortlist for helping their club side have an unprecedented run towards the Champions League title, a run which unfortunately ended in the semis.

Nigeria’s Odion Ighalo who finished as AFCON’s top scorer as well as Kalidou Koulibaly who narrowly missed on winning the title also made the cut.

Here’s a breakdown of the nominees.

Player of the Year:

Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah).

Women’s Player of the Year:

Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona), Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning), Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC).

Interclubs Player of the Year:

Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance), Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek), Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah).

Youth Player of the Year:

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge), Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton), Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille).

Men’s Coach of the Year:

Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal), Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek), Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria), Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance), Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar).
Women’s Coach of the Year: Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon), Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Clementine Toure (Ivory Coast), Desiree Ellis (South Africa) Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria).

Men’s National Team of the Year:

Algeria, Madagascar, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia.
Women’s National Team of the Year: Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia.



One thought on “CAF 2019: Mane, Salah And Aubameyang Headline 10-Man List

  • December 7, 2019 at 5:22 am

    What’s up to every one, because I am truly eager oof reading this blog’s
    post to be updated daily. It includes ood information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *