CAF Awards: Mo Salah and Thembi Kgatlana steal the show

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards took place at the Senegalese capital, Dakar. The event was held at the Abdou Diouf International Conference Center and was graced by football stars, analysts, journalists, pundits, presidents and other sports personalities.

Media personalities, Isha Sesay and Aboubacry Ba played hosts. The awards to be presented at the awards include platinum award, Women’s National Team of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year, Men and Women’s Player of the Year awards among others.

It was however a not-so-good night for Nigerians as none of their countrymen took home any award save for Kanu who bagged a legends award.

The highlight of the show however were the Men and Women’s Player of the Year awards. Here’s a quick rundown of the nominees for each category and their winners respectively.

SEE ALSO >> CAF XI: Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi vs Naby Keita <<

Youth Player of the year

  • Archaf Hakimi [Morocco]- Winner
  • Franck Kessie [Cote d’ivoire]
  • Wilfred Ndidi [Nigeria]

Team of the year

Mauritania are winners of this category having qualified for their first ever Africa Cup of Nations

  • Mauritania National football team- Winner
  • Madagascar National football team
  • Uganda National football team

Women’s team of the Year

  • Nigeria women’s national football team – Winner
  • South Africa women’s national football team
  • Cameroon women’s national football team

Ydnekatchew Tessema trophy

  • Fouzi Lekjaa

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis won the award having led the Bafana Bafana of South Africa to the final of the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON).

  • Desiree Ellis [South Africa]
  • Joseph Brian Ndoko [Cameroon]
  • Thomas Dennerby [Nigeria]

Men’s Coach of the Year

  • Herve Renard [Morocco]
  • Aliou Cisse [Senegal]
  • Moine Chaabani [Esperance]

CAF Team of the Year

  • Onyango (Uganda)
  • Aurier (Cote d’ivoire)
  • Benatia (Morocco)
  • Bailly (Cote d’ivoire)
  • Koulibaly (Senegal)
  • Parkey (Ghana)
  • Keita (Guinea)
  • Mahrez (Algeria)
  • Salah (Egypt)
  • Aubameyang (Gabon)
  • Mane (Senegal)

Africa’s Player of the Year Award (Men)

This category pitted three European stars against each other. The nominated players ply their trade in England’s top flight with two of them playing for Liverpool FC.

  • Mohammed Salah [Egypt]- Winner
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang [Gabon]
  • Sadio Mane [Senegal]

Africa’s Player of the Year Award (Women)

  • Thembi Kgatlana [South Africa] – Winner
  • Asisat Oshoala [Nigeria]
  • Francisca Ordega [Nigeria]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *