DAAR Awards 2019 Full List Of Nominations – Update

The DAAR 2019 awards will be holding on the 19th of January at the International Conference, Abuja. The event is hosted by AIT, a subsidiary of DAAR communications.

It will be aired by all AIT and Raypower channels to celebrate their 25 years of private broadcasting in Nigeria. The awards show will present live performances from several Nigerian music artistes. Voting and nominations has been on for deserving candidates via the #DAARawards2019 on twitter.

Chief Raymond has this to say about the selection process:

DAAR awards is an event to commemorate those individuals in society who have made it their life’s work to be exemplary. It celebrates the individuals who ought to be celebrated by the work they have done, the positive influence they have imparted, their drive to be symbols of excellence as Nigerians and the lives they have touched in the process.

He also had this to say about the importance of dishing out the awards:

“It is one of the key roles of the media to maintain an upwardly progressive society, to create sustainability by applauding the architects of growth at all levels”


Quiz – Twitter followers have been asked to give background information about Chief Raymond using the #DAARawards2019.

iDONSABI gives you a quick rundown of the nominees:


The following categories have just been nominated.

President Muhammad Buhari, President Nana Akufo-Addo, President Uhuru Kenyatta and President Paul Kagame for African President of the Year;

Mike Adenuga, Sanni Dangote and Abdulsalam Rabiu have been nominated for the Business Man of the Year;

Fidelity Bank, UBA, Access Bank, GTBank for Entrepreneurship Bank of the Year;

King of Boys, Merry Men, Lion Heart, Chief Daddy for Movie of the Year;

Linda Ikeji, Kraks TV, BellaNaija and Instablog for Most Influential Platform of the Year;

Bet9ja, NairaBET, BetKing, SportyBet and BetKing for Sport Betting Company of the Year;

Teni, Victor AD, Chinko Ekun, Mr. Real for Breakout Star of the Year;

Glo, Airtel, H20, Heritage for Most Creative Advert on TV;

Ordinary Ahmed, Deji Adeyanju, Segalink, Oby Ezekwesili for Most Courageous Activist of the Year;

Reno Omokri, Akaebube The Statesman, Laolu Akande, Bashir Ahmed for Social Media Political Commentator of the Year.

Eku Edewor, Bolanle Olukanni, Ebuka Obi Uchendu, Nancy Isime for TV Presentation in Entertainment; and

Seun Okinbaloye, Osasu Igbinedion, Amechi ANekwe, Ojy Okpe for TV Presentation in Politics

Man of the Year

  • Justice Walter Onnoghen
  • H.E President Buhari
  • Aliko Dangote
  • Atiku Abubakar
  • Unknown Soldier

Update: The recent controversy surrounding the justice may put his selection in doubt.

Media Personality of the Year

  • Peace Hyde
  • Mercy Ajisafe
  • Toke Makinwa
  • Ebuka Obi-Uchendu
  • Uti Nwachukwu

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Alex Iwobi
  • Ahmed Musa
  • Anthony Joshua
  • Nigeria’s Bobsled team

Woman of the Year Nominees

  • Obi Ezekwesili
  • H.E Hajiya Aisha Buhari
  • Amina Mohammed
  • Leah Sharibu
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala
  • Dr. Zainab Shinkafi Bagudu

Outstanding Political Personality of the Year

  • Comrade Adams Oshiomole
  • Prof. Yemi Osinbajo
  • Prince Uche Secondus
  • Sen. (Dr) Bukola Saraki

Most Loved Nigerian Brand

  • Indomie
  • Coca Cola
  • Guinness
  • Peak

Most Viable Telecommunications Company

  • AIT
  • 9mobile
  • MTN
  • Glo

Outstanding Leadership in Business

  • Innoson Group
  • Dangote (Agriculture)
  • Eleganza

Minister of the Year

  • Ibe Kachikwu
  • Rt. Hon. Rotimi Amaechi
  • Chief Audu Ogbe
  • H.E Babatunde Fashola

Song of the Year

  • Ye! – Burna Boy
  • Amaka – 2Baba ft. Peruzzi
  • Assurance – Davido
  • Soco – Wizkid

Celebrity with Positive Impact

  • Falz
  • 2Baba
  • Banky Welligton
  • Davido

Young Achiever of the Year

  • Andy Madaki
  • Usman Dantata
  • Osasu Igbinedion
  • Maryam Laushi

Outstanding Leadership in Legislative Governance

  • Sen (Dr) Bukola Saraki
  • Hon. Yakubu Dogara
  • Sen. Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan
  • Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila

Song of the Year

Most Courageous Activist of the Year

  • Ordinary Ahmed
  • Deji Adeyanju
  • Ruggedman
  • Oby Ezekwesili

Expanding Frontiers in Entrepreneurship

  • Kunle Afolayan
  • Kemi Adetiba
  • Tokini Peterside
  • Omoyemi Akerele

NGO of the Year

  • Nkechi Azinge (SCAF)
  • Save The Children
  • One Campaign

Sports Administrator of the Year

  • Shehu Dikko
  • Solomon Ogba
  • Amaju Pinnick
  • Musa Nimbroid

Prize for Impact in Nollywood

  • Genevieve Nnaji
  • Remi Adetiba
  • Omotola Jolade-Ekeinde
  • Dare Olaitan

Outstanding Music Video Director

  • Meji Alabi
  • Clarence Peters
  • Sesan
  • Director Q

Impact in Music

  • 2Baba
  • Davido
  • Burna Boy
  • Olamide

Awards for TV Presentation

  • Stephanie Coker
  • Bolanle Olukanni
  • Ebuka Obi Uchendu
  • Osasu Igbinedion

Prize for Outstanding Magazine Publication

  • Chidera Muoka (Guardian)
  • Simi Esiri (Schick Mag)
  • Tonye Ekine (AbjCity Info)
  • Ruth Isime (ThisDay)

Prize for Best Social Media Comedy Skit

  • Broda Shaggi
  • Lasisi Elenu
  • Williams Uchemba
  • Nedu Wazobi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *