Election result: Omoyele Sowore beat Fela Durotoye, Kingsley Moghalu to third place

– Omoyele Sowore of the AAC defeat Fela Durotoye and Kingsley Moghalu to third place

– He comes third behind Atiku and Pres. Buhari

The outcome of the 2019 Presidential election was expected to be between the All Progressive Congress APC and the Peoples Democratic Party PDP owing to their party structure, popularity, experienced candidates amongst others.

However, there were some other third force candidates which caught attentions and they were Kingsley Moghalu of the YPP, Omoyele Sowore of the AAC and Fela Durotoye of the ANN.

Although, Pres. Muhammadu Buhari has been declared the winner of the 2019 Presidential poll by the independent National Electoral Commission INEC this morning with over four million votes separating him from his closest contender, Alh. Atiku Abubakar of the PDP, however iDONSABI.COM decided to look at how the third forces fair.

Learn Also: NANS congratulate Pres. Buhari tells Atiku and others to accept defeat

According to the result released by INEC , the Presidential candidate of the African Action Congress AAC, Omoyele Sowore came third despite his controversial nature and his refusal to join in a coalition.

Sowore, 48, who was seen as an underdog during the electioneering campaign came third with 33,953 votes ahead of other big names like Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria, ANN, who polloed 16,779 votes and Kingsley Moghalu of the Young Peoples Party, YPP, who had 21,886 votes.

One of the reason for the surprise towards Sowore’s coming third was seen during the presidential debate, the AAC presidential candidate was not invited due to his controversial nature but Durotoye and Moghalu were invited.
Omoyele Sowore, who is the publisher of Sahara Reporters, a writer and blogger may not have won the election but he seems to have made a name for himself, which he can bank on in future should he decide to contest again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *