FIFA Puskas 2019 – Messi Makes The Cut, Ronaldo Omitted

Ten names have been shortlisted for the annual FIFA Puskas award which was won last year by Liverpool winger and star, Mohammed Salah.

The Egyptian forward however failed to make the list this year with Crystal Palace’s Andros Townsend being the only Premier League player on the list.

While Barcelona star, Lionel Messi made the cut, his decade-long rival, Cristiano Ronaldo failed to make the shortlist.

Last year September, Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored an acrobatic volley for LA Galaxy against Toronto, one which cemented his place on the prestigious list.

Lionel Messi on the other hand scored a superb tantalising goal in the Laliga against Real Betis to ink his name on the list.

Here’s a full list of the nominations

Billie Simpson – Sion Swifts Ladies vs Cliftonville Ladies (August 9, 2018)

Fabio Quagliarella – Sampdoria vs Napoli (September 2, 2018)

Zlatan Ibrahimović – Toronto FC vs LA Galaxy (September 15, 2018)

Andros Townsend – Manchester City vs Crystal Palace (December 22, 2018)

Juan Fernando Quintero – River Plate vs Racing Club (February 10, 2019)

Dániel Zsóri – Debrecen FC vs Ferencváros (February 16, 2019)

Lionel Messi – Real Betis vs FC Barcelona (March 17, 2019)

Matheus Cunha – Bayer Leverkusen vs. RB Leipzig ( April 6, 2019)

Amy Rodriguez – Utah Royals vs Sky Blue FC (June 16, 2019)

Ajara Nchout – Cameroon vs New Zealand (June 20, 2019)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *