FIFA The Best – Ronaldo, Messi And Van Dijk Make Final Shortlist

The trio of Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Virgil Van Dijk have once again been nominated for the prestigious FIFA The Best Awards, days after being nominated for UEFA’s Player of the Year which Virgil Van Dijk eventually clinched.

With that award, the centre-back became the first defender to ever lift the award.

The award was won last year by Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric who beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohammed Salah to the prize.

Spanish gaffer, Pepe Guardiola was shortlisted as a contender for the Men’s Coach award after guiding the Citizens to a domestic treble win last term.

Jurgen Klopp was also nominated for helping Liverpool to their sixth Champions league victory after an infamous comeback against Barcelona in the semi finals.

Mauricio Pochettino who led the Lilywhites to the Champions League finals completed the list, an all-English clubs manager’s listing.

The English duo of Liverpool and Manchester City were also ably represented in The Best Goalkeeper category, with Brazilian duo Ederson and Alisson nominated alongside Barcelona’s Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

SEE ALSO: Ronaldo Wins Portuguese Player Of The Year Ahead Of Bernardo Silva

Messi is also a string contender for the FIFA Puskas award with his chip against Real Betis making the shortlist for the goal of the season awards.

Juanfer Quintero’s free-kick for River Plate against Racing Club and Daniel Zsori’s strike for Hungarian side Debrecen and Ferencvaros then completed the list.

The nominations were announced in Italy with the awards to be handed out on Monday, 23 September.

USA International duo Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe are nominated for the The Best Women’s Player. Both players shared the Golden Boot at the Women’s World Cup in France having scored six goals apiece.

England’s Lucy Bronze then completes the list of nominations. The defender just last week was presented with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Jill Ellis who guided USA to World Cup victory and Phil Neville who coached her side to the semifinals were both nominated for the Women’s Coach of the Year award with Sarina Wiegmann whose Netherland side finished runners-up completing the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *