Golden Boy Award Shortlist: Mount And Foden Make The Cut, Chukwueze Omitted

The 20-man shortlist of the Golden Boy award has been announced and its Real Madrid who has the highest number of representatives on the list.

The award given to the calendar year’s outstanding European-based footballer under the age of 21 is decided by a round of voting by football journalists, with the winner to be announced in Turin on 16 December.

The favourite for the award created by Italian newspaper, Tuttosport in 2003 appears to be Joao Felix who now represents Atletico Madrid.

The former Benfica player has impressed in Spain since his move from the Portuguese league. The 19-year-old’s impressive showing at Benfica in the 2018/19 season caught the eye of Atletico who brought him in for the departed Antoinne Griezmann.

He has established himself as a main figure at the Wanda Metropolitano since his arrival there.

Some of the other contenders for the award are the Real Madrid trio of Vinicius Junior, Rodrygo Goes and Andriy Lunin and Barcelona’s Ansu Fati.

SEE ALSO: Arsenal Legend, Vieira Eyes Managerial Position At Arsenal

Other major contenders for the award include Dortmund’s Jadon Sancho, Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Chelsea’s Mason Mount.

Villarreal’s Samuel Chukwueze was one of the most notable names to be missing from the list. The Nigerian impressed for his Laliga side last term and put up a series of impressive performances for the Nigeria National side in the Africa Cup of Nations.

Here’s a full list of the nominees

  • Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus, Holland)
  • Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich, Canada)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan, Italy)
  • Ansu Fati (Barcelona, Spain)
  • Philip Foden (Man City, England)
  • Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal, France)
  • Erling Haland (RB Salzburg, Norway)
  • Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)
  • Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid, Portugal)
  • Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt, Serbia)
  • Moise Kean (Everton, Italy)
  • Kang-in Lee (Valencia, South Korea)
  • Andrij Oleksijovyc (Valladolid, Ukraine)
  • Danyell Malen (PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea, England)
  • Rodrygo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund, England)
  • Ferran Torres (Valencia, Spain)
  • Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Nicolò Zaniolo (Roma, Italy)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *