History of Ekiti State Nigeria

Ekiti State got its name from the hills found in IIe-Olokiti. The State is an independent State prior to the British conquest in old days. Ekiti State is part of the Yoruba Race that has Oduduwa as their Father, as a result of this the Ekiti State has its existence from IIe-ife( the Cradle land of Yoruba Land). Ekiti State was formed on October 1, 1996, with other five states by General Sani Abacha (Military Regime). This State was carved out of Ondo Sate. Its capital is Ado- Ekiti, which is also one of the Local Government Area.

Find the history of Ekiti state and other Nigerian states on iDONSABI.com

Ethnic Groups in Ekiti State

Ekiti State inhabitants speak more often Yoruba Language with those they are surrounded with. Christianity and Islam are mainly practiced as religions while a few of them are into traditional practices. They are special in their dressing, men-round neck shirt and Sokoto Trousers, women Buba Blouse, wrapper (iro). Pounded yam with egusi soup and bush meat is their best meal.

Ekiti State Population

Ekiti state was recorded in the year 2006 as having  2,398,957 people.

Area – 6,353km² (the 6th smallest State in Nigeria)

READ ALSO>>>History of Kano State<<<

Ekiti State Economy

Ekiti State is richly blessed with Agricultural products and   mineral deposit, such as; Clay, Kaolin, Columbite, Cassiterite, foundry Sand, bauxite, charcoal-nite Granite, Clarcomite.   In the Agricultural Aspect, 75% of the inhabitants are farmers and are employed, this State is the biggest to produce rice, Kola nut, oil Palm, and cocoa in Nigeria, also crops product such as cassava, cowpea, citrus, plantain, maize and fruits. The State is also known for Quality and high quantity of wood produce because of many forest and even wood companies.

Map of Ekiti State 

Map of Ekiti State
Map of Ekiti State

Federal Constituencies in Ekiti State

Ado-Ekiti/Irepodun/Ifelodun                   Ekiti South West/Ikere/Ise/Orun

Emure/gbonyin/Ekiti East                         Ido/Osi/moba/ilejemeje

Ijero/Ekiti West/efon                                Ikole/oye

Tourist Attraction Sites in Ekiti State

Emure Forest Reserve                   Ikogosi warm spring

Ogun onire site                              Olosunta/Oroole

Esa Crave                                      Okemesi /Efon Mountain range

Ero River                                       Igede River source

Eriyan Ekiti Royal Grave              Ikere Ekiti hills

Afe Babalola University               Ewi’s Pontiac Car

Festivals in Ekiti State

Ogun Onire                       Idiroko                        Okorobo

Odun Ijesu                         Uromo                        Ekiti Oloma dance

Odun Ifa                           Ajagbo dance              Ladunwo masquerade Festival

Ekiti State Local Government Areas

Ado-Ekiti              Gbonyin                      Efon                Oye

Ekiti East              Ekiti South West         Ekiti West

Emure                    Ido-Osi                        Ijero

Ikere                      Ikole                            Ilejemeje

Ise/Orun                Moba                           Irepodun/ifelodun

Ekiti State Major towns

Ado                       Awo-Ekiti                   Efon-Alaaye

Aramoko               Ikoe                             Ikere

Ire                          Ijero                             Ayatoro

Ipoti                      Igogo                           Iyin

Emure                    Ido                              Usi

Otun                      Itapa                            Ise

Igede                     Iiawe                           Ode

Oye                       Omu                            Omuo

Ijesa-isu                 Iye                               Ikun

Ikoro                     Iiupeju                         Ayadum

Aisegba                 Osin                             Okemesi


Wards in Ekiti State

AdegbaAdegba, Adegba II
AdoAdo ‘a’  Idofin, Ado ‘b’  Inisa, Ado ‘c’  Idolofin, Ado ‘d’  Ijigbo, Ado ‘e’ Ijoka/ Orereowu, Ado ‘f’ Okeyinmi, Ado ‘g’ Oke lla, Ado ‘h’  Ereguru, Ado ‘I’  Dallimore, Ado ‘j’  Okesa, Ado ‘k’ Irona, Ado ‘l’ Igbehin, Ado ‘m’  Farm Settlement
Afao, Afao/Kajola/Ayetoro, Agbado, Agbado/ Oyo, Atiba/aafin, Awo, Ayegbaju, Eda Oniyo
AramokoAramoko I, Aramoko II, Aramoko II(/ Erio
AraromiAraromi, Bolorunduro, Are, Are Araromi
AyedeAyede North, Ayede South Itaji
AyetoroAyetoro I, Ayetoro II
Eda Oniyo, Egbe /Iro, Ewu, Ido Ajinare
EfonEfon I, Efon II, Efon III, Efon V,   Efon VI, Efon VII, Efon VIII, Efon X, Efon IV, Efon IX
EkamarunEkamarun Ward  ‘a’, Ekamarun Ward  ‘b’
ErijiyanErijiyan I, Erijiyan II
ErinmopeErinmope I, Erinmope II
ErinwaErinwa I, Erinwa II
Ida MuduIda Mudu  II, Idamudu I
IdoIdo I, Ido II
IfakiIfaki I, Ifaki II
Igbara odoIgbara odo  I, Igbara Odo  II
Idemo, Igbemo, Igbole/Ifisin/Aaye, Ijan, Ijesa Isu, Ijesamodu, Ikogosi, Ikoro Ward ‘a’, IIapetu/ Ijdo, IIogobo, IIuomoba, Imesi, Ipao/Oke Ako/Irele, Ipere, Ipole IIoro, Iropora/Esure/Eyio, Isan/IIafon/IIemeso, Isinbode, Itapaji/iyemero, Itapa/osin, Iworoko, Obada, Odose, Ogbonjana, Oke-Osun, Oke Ayedun, Okeruku, Omu Oke/ Omu Odo/  Ijelu, Orin /Ora, Osan, Osi, Osun,  Ugele/Aroku, Usi
IgedeIgede I, Igede II, Igede III
IgogoIgogo I, Igogo II
IjeroIjero Ward “a”, Ijero Ward “b”, Ijero Ward “c”, Ijero Ward “d”
IkoleIkole East, Ikole North, Ikole West, Ikole West  I, Ikole West  II
IkunIkun I, Ikun II
IIasaIIasa I, Iiasa II/ Ikun/ Araromi/  eda  IIe
IIaweIIawe III, IIawe IV, IIawe V, IIawe I, IIawe II, IIawe VI, IIawe VII
IIoroIIoro/Ijunrin Ward ‘b’, IIoro Ward ‘a’
IIudunIIudun I, Iiudun II
IIupejuIIupeju I, IIupeju II
IpotiIpoti/odo owa Ward ‘c’, Ipoti Ward ‘a’, Ipoti Ward  ‘b’
IreIre I, Ire II
IyeIye I, Iye II, Iye III
IyinIyin I, Iyin II
KotaKota I, Kota II
ObadoreObadore I, II, Obadore III, Obadore IV
OdeOde I, Ode II, Ode III
Odo- EmureOdo- Emure I, Odo-Emure II, Odo-Emure III, Odo-Emure IV
Odo AyedunOdo Ayedun I, Odo Ayedun /Ayebode
Odo IseOdo Ise I, Odo Ise  II, Odo Ise   III,
OgbontioroOgbontioro I, Ogbontioro II
OgotunOgotun I, Ogotun II
Oke EmureOke Emure  I, Oke Emure   II,
OkemesiOkemesi I, Okemesi II, Okemesi III
Omuo- OkeOmuo- Oke I, Omuo –Oke II
OrayeOraye II, Oraye III, Oraye I
OrunOrun I, Orun II
OtunOtun I, Otun II, Otun III
OyeOye I, Oye II

Zones in Ekiti State

There are mainly Three senatorial District Zones; they are;

Ekiiti South senatorial zone

This Zone has a number of six local Government Areas.

SEE ALSO>>History of Cross River State<<<

Ekiti State central senatorial Zone

This Zone has a number of five local Governments

Ekitii State North senatorial Zone

This zone has five local Government

Zones Local Government Areas
Ekiti South senatorial Ekiti East, Ekiti South, Emure, Gbonyin

Ikere, Ise

Ekiti State central senatorial Ado-Ekiti, Efon, Ekiti West, Ijere, Irepound/ifelodun
Ekitii State North senatorial Ido /osi, Ikole, IIejmeje, Moba, Oye

The Government of Ekiti State

Ekiti State Government has three Arms of Government:

  • The Executive Arm
  • The Legislative Arm
  • The Judicial Arm

The Executive Arm of Ekiti State

This Arm is headed by the State governor assisted by the commissioners who the governor appoints to head different departments of the State. MR KAYODE FAYEMI is the present governor of Ekiti State.

The Legislative Arm of Ekiti State

This is the State house of Assembly in Ekiti State. it is made up of 26 members voted by the people of the 26 constituencies in the State. MR ADENIRAN ALAGBADA is the present speaker of the State house of Assembly.

The Judicial Arm of Ekiti State

This Arm of the State is headed by the chief judge of the State to ensure justice in all areas.  Justice AYODEJI DARAMOLA is the present chief Judge of the State.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *