Minority Leader Crisis: Committee Grills Elumelu, Others

  • Elumelu is recognised by House of Reps as Minority Leader against PDP’s wish.
  • Elumelu and fives others are currently being grilled by a Committee.

The lawmaker representing Aniocha/Oshimili federal constituency, Ndudi Elumelu and other suspended Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members of the House of Representatives for their role in the emergence of minority principal officers are being questioned by members of the committee chaired by a former Senate President, Senator Iyorchia Ayu.

The Committee was set up by the PDP after the lawmakers were suspended by the party’s National Working Committee.

Elumelu had expressed surprise over his suspension having been nominated by his colleagues.

READ: House of Reps: Elumelu Surprised Over His Suspension Without Hearing

Other PDP Reps who were suspended by PDP NWC for alleged “indiscipline, insubordination and disobedience of the party directives are the lawmaker representing Oriade/Obokun Federal Constituency of Osun State, Wole Oke; , Lynda Ikpeazu (Onitsha North and Onitsha South Federal Constituency, Anambra), Anayo Edwin (Ezza North/Ishielu Federal Constituency), Gideon Gwani (Kaura Federal Constituency, Kaduna), , Toby Okechukwu (Aninri/Awgu/Oji River Federal Constituency, Enugu) and Adekoya Abdul-Majid (Ijebu-North / Ijebu-East / Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency).

READ: Reps: PDP Lawmakers Begs PDP to Suspend Them for Nominating Elumelu, Others

Obviously, in solidarity for their colleagues, it was gathered that that other Rep member who were not suspended also attended the session.

Other members of the Ayu committee include Austin Opara (Secretary), Senator David Mark; Ibrahim Mantu, and Adolphus Wabara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *