Nine APC Candidates Cleared for Kogi Governorship Election

  • Incumbent governor, Yahaya Bello makes the cut.
  • Former governor Audu son was not cleared.

Ahead of the November 16 gubernatorial election in Kogi state, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared nine aspirants for the party’s indirect governorship primary election.

The aspirants were cleared after the working committee deliberated on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the primary.

The incumbent governor, Yahaya Bello is among the nine aspirants cleared by Committee, while Mustapha Audu, son to late Prince Abubakar Audu was one of those that were not cleared.

READ: Kogi: Governorship Aspirants Petition Receiving Attention, We Won’t Be Pressured on Mode of Primary – APC

Hadiza Ibrahim, Aishat Ekele are the women among the nine cleared aspirants for the APC primary.

The nod was given by the APC NWC after deliberating on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants.

The APC national publicity secretary, Lanre Issa-Onilu ina a statement said the aspirants were cleared after a comprehensive review of submissions by the two committees.

According to the statement, the NWC relied on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the electoral act to clear the nine aspirants, while seven others who did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise were not cleared.

READ: APC NWC Meet Over Kogi Governorship Primary Election, Under Pressure to Reverse Indirect Primary

See the full list of those cleared and those not cleared below…


Yahaya Bello
Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim
Yahaya Odidi Audu
Sani Lulu Abdullahi
Engr. Abubakar Bashir
Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed
Yakubu Mohammed
Hassan Abdullahi
Ekele Aishat Blessing


Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili
Usman Oyibe Jibrin
Mustapha Mona Audu
Rukkaya Ibrahim
Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa
Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera
Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *