Osinbajo to Be Honoured With Anti-Corruption Defender Award

The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, will be honoured with the Integrity speciality of the Anti-Corruption Defender Award during 2019 Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Journalism.

This was revealed in a statement signed by Motunrayo Alaka, Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer of the centre.

According to the statement, the honourary award of the Vice President is in recognition of his anti-corruption fight due to his invaluable work of overhauling the Lagos State Judiciary, facilitating far-reaching reforms in the administration of justice in the state.

Also noted was his work of promoting integrity in the civil society and business in Nigeria and his consistency as a strong voice for promoting integrity in the country.

READ:  We Are All Equal, Be Your Brother’s Keeper No Matter Your Religion – Osinbajo Admonishes Nigerians

Also shortlisted for awards are thirteen journalists from print, online, television, radio, photo, and editorial cartoon categories.

This is the 14th edition of the initiative which is scheduled for NECA House, Lagos, on Monday, 9th December 2019 by 6 pm.

According to the statement, the journalists were shortlisted from one hundred and ninety-four entries. They include Chinwe Agbeze of The Sun, Damilola Banjo of Sahara Reporters; Samson Folarin of The Punch; Sharon Ijasan of TVC News; Isine Ibanga of The Next Edition; Samuel-Wemimo Bukola of TVC News; Oladimeji Ramon of Punch; Mary Abayomi-Fatile of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN); Ayodele Adeniran of Guardian; Saheed Olugbon of The Punch; Albert Ohams of The Sun; Chikezie Omeje of International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR); and Odutayo Odusanya of The Punch.

Also to be honoured on the day is Amnesty International, a global movement promoting human rights in Nigeria and beyond. The body will be honoured with the Human Rights Specialty of the Anti-Corruption Defender Award for its remarkable voice against human rights violations and oppressive laws, and its efforts to defend freedom of expression in Nigeria.

Sunmi Smart-Cole, a veteran photojournalist, will also be honoured with the Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence for his outstanding contribution to journalism exhibited by his beautiful and evincing pictures particularly during the military era in Nigeria and his commitment to mentoring the next generation of photojournalists.

The event which is held annually on December 9, the World Anti-Corruption Day and eve of the Human Rights Day, is to acknowledge best practices in investigative journalism and call attention to its significance for attaining good governance, accountability, and social justice.

READ: Security: You Are Making Things to Get Out of Hand, Aisha Buhari Slams Ministers And Governors

The award has produced 91 finalists, 9 investigative journalists of the year and 20 honorary awards recipients so far.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *