Senate Communicates With Presidency on Cleared Cabinet Nominees

The lawmaker representing Ekiti central senatorial district, Adedayo Adeyeye, has revealed that the National Assembly had concluded its task by sending the outcome of the ministerial nominees’ screening to President Muhammadu Buhari.

In an interview with Punch, Adeyeye who is also the Chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Public Affairs, said communication has been sent to the President.

“We concluded the process of screening and confirmation on Tuesday and yesterday (Wednesday) was a day after.

READ: I Hope Buhari Is Thinking How He Will Delegate Responsibilities to The Ministers – Joe Abah

“The National Assembly worked on the communication on Wednesday and as the media reported the meeting between President Muhammadu Buhari and the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, also on Wednesday, I think that has been settled.”

Speaking on the step taking by the senate, presidential aide, ItaEnang, confirmed that the Presidency had received communication from the Senate formally informing President Muhammadu Buhari that the 43 individuals he nominated for ministerial positions had been confirmed.

Enang, who is the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate) confirmed this but is yet to reveal when the nominees will be inaugurated.

“Yes, communication has been transmitted. We have received the communication from the Senate,” Enang said.

It could be recalled that no fewer than 14 former ministers who worked in the first term of President Buhari made the list.

The fromer ministers include Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); Hadi Sirika (Katsina), Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna); Lai Mohammed (Kwara); Chris Ngige (Anambra); Adamu Adamu (Bauchi); Abubakar Malami (Kebbi); Godfrey Onyeama (Enugu); Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi); Osagie Enahire (Edo); Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa); Mohameed Bello (Adamawa); and Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno).

READ: Minister: Those against Alasoadura’s nomination are faceless individuals – Akeredolu

Also included in the list are former Senate Minority Leader, Goodwill Akpabio; Senator Gbemisola Saraki; and Buhari’s campaign spokesperson, Festus Keyamo.

Others are former lawmaker, Olorunnimbe Marmora; Senator Tayo Alasoadura; former governor Rauf Aregbsola; former governor Niyi Adebayo; and former governor Timipre Sylva, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *