Victor Osimhen Features Alongside Mahrez And Salah On Africa Player Of The Year Shortlist

Nigerian striker, Victor Osimhen has been nominated for the African Player of the Year award alongside the likes of Liverpool duo of Mohammed Salah and Sadio Mane as well as Manchestee City’s Riyad Mahrez and Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

The Lille forward is joined by Salah, Wilfred Ndidi and Percy Tau on the preliminary list of nominees for the award.

Mo Salah pipped his Liverpool teammate, Mane and Arsenal’s Aubameyang to the individual honour last year after putting up incredible performances for both club and country.

He is challenged for the 2019 African Player of the Year award by Victor Osimhen who’s put up fantastic figures since his move from Royal Charleroi Sporting club.

The 2016 winner of the award in Mahrez, 2019 African Cup of Nations highest goal scorer, Odion Ighalo and Atletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey are also in contention for the title.

Other frontrunners for the award include Leicester City and Nigeria midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi, Borussia Borussia Dortmund’s Achraf Hakimi, Napoli star Kalidou Koulibaly and PSG’s Idrissa Gueye.

The awards will be held on the 7th of January, 2020 at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.

The shortlist

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd) , Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain), Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain), Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa), Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk) , Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto), Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool) , Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal) , Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua) , Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal) , Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City) , Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance) , Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid) , Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille) , Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City), Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace) · Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *