We Won’t Allow You Impose A Minority Leader on Us, PDP Tells Gbajabiamila

  • PDP members turned the session into a rowdy one.
  • PDP releases names forwarded to Gbajabiamila.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has said it won’t allow the Speaker, House of Representatives,  Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, to impose leaders for our party in the House of Representatives.

Kola Ologbondiyan, PDP’s National Publicity Secretary stated this in a statement released on Tuesday

It could be recalled that Wednesday session ended rowdy when Gbajabiamila was about to read a letter he said he got from opposition members, which he was about to read to the lawmakers.
READ: Lawan Appoints Adeyeye As Senate’s Spokesman

A member of the Peoples Democratic Party, Kingsley Chinda, however, raised a point of order but the Speaker ruled him out of order.

Everything went rowdy as several PDP lawmakers protested against the planned announcement.

The sergeants-at-arms moved to protect the mace while Gbajabiamila, in the heat of the controversy, adjourned the plenary and the Speaker was guarded out of the chamber amid cheers and jeers.

“It is instructive to state that the PDP had duly written to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, after consultation with other minority members in the House of Representatives, notifying him of members that have been selected for the leadership position in the House of Representatives, in line with dictates of the rules and parliamentary practice.

“However, to our utter dismay, the PDP had discovered that the Speaker attempted to smuggle in names other than those recognized and forwarded to him as the leaders of the Minority in the House of Representatives,” the party alleged.

READ: 9th Assembly: Senate President Ahmed Lawan names principal officers

The PDP, therefore, cautioned the speaker against abuse of rules, parliamentary practices and procedures, as well as the convention and urged the Speaker to respect the rules and read the list submitted to him by the leadership of the PDP.

The party revealed that list forwarded to the Speaker by the PDP is as follows:

1. Hon. Kingsley Chinda – Minority Leader
2. Hon. Chukwuka Onyema- Deputy Minority Leader
3. Hon. Yakubu Barde – Minority Whip,
4. Hon. Muraina Ajibola – Deputy Minority Whip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *