Power Stations in Nigeria and their capacities

According to the former Minister of Power, Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola, Nigeria can generate 13,000 megawatts of power. But Nigeria has not been able to move beyond 6,000 megawatts.

One will wonder if there are no power stations that could proffer solutions to the poor power supply that has been the main problem Nigeria has ever faced. Many companies have left Nigeria for Ghana, as they are tired of spending money in powering their generators that will also require repairs due to usage.

This is why this article has come to answer some of the burning questions about our power stations and their capacity to operate optimally and provided adequate power supply for all.

The minister, during the interview, also revealed that the power generation companies (Gencos) and Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) usually sell a huge amount of power to the distribution companies (Discos), but they refused to buy by returning them.

Thus it means Nigerian can generate what should be enough, but the problem the Discos have been facing is power theft. Although they have their issues with customers, they have been overbilling and giving estimated bill.

Types of power plants in Nigeria

Before delving into the main topic, it is important to note that there are currently two main types of power plants operating in Nigeria. They include:

(1) Hydro-electric: This power station is gas-fired plants, which now dominates the Nigerian power supply mix. Electricity production from hydroelectric sources in Nigeria, according to a finding in 2014, was at 17.59%. The information released by the World Bank collection of development indicators was compiled from officially recognized sources.

(2) Thermal or fossil fuel power plants: This comes in two types; (i) coal-fired and (ii) natural gas-fired.

These have a total installed capacity of 8457.6MW (81 percent of total) in early 2014.

Note that they are three tiers of ownership in power stations. All the stations in Nigeria are not wholly owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria, as there is a plan to privatize these power plants.

There are other power stations, like the Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC), which is owned by the three tiers of government in Nigeria (Federal, State and Local). These power plants are referred to as being part of the National Integrated Power Project (NIPP).

The other owner of some power plants are the state governments and/or private companies/individuals. Such a power plant is referred to as being an Independent Power Producer (IPP).

That aside, this subject will be achieving the main purpose of acquainting you with the information about the power stations in Nigeria and their capacities.

Let’s begin looking at them according to their type. They include:

  1. 1.Fossil fuel power stations
  2. Hydroelectric


Power stationCommunityTypeCapacityStatusYear completedGas supply source
AES Barge (IPP)EgbinSimple cycle gas turbine270 MWNon-operational [2]2001Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Aba Power Station (IPP)AbaAbia State5°09′11″N7°18′38″ESimple cycle gas turbine140 MW2012
Afam IV-V Power Station (FGN)AfamRivers State4°51′05″N7°15′17″ESimple cycle gas turbine726 MW (Afam IV -6 x 75 MW (GT 13-18), Afam V -2 x 138 MW (GT 19-20))[4]Non-operational1982 (Afam IV)- 2002 (Afam V)Okoloma gas plant
Afam VI Power Station (IPP)AfamRivers StateCombined cycle gas turbine624 MWPartially operational2009 (Gas turbines) 2010 (Steam turbines)Okoloma gas plant
Alaoji Power Station (NIPP)Abia stateCombined cycle gas turbine1074 MWPartially operational2012-2015Norten Option Gas Pipeline  from Obigbo gas plant
Calabar Power Station(NIPP)Calabar5°11′21″N8°16′25″ESimple cycle gas turbine561 MWNon-operational2014UQUO gas plant(planned)
Egbema Power Station(NIPP)Imo State5°33′56″N6°44′18″ESimple cycle gas turbine338 MWNon-operational2012-2013Gbarain Ubie gas plant(planned)
Egbin Thermal Power Station(FGN but Privatized)Egbin6°33′47″N3°36′55″EGas-fired steam turbine1320 MW (six 220-MW units)Partially operational (1000 MW)1985-1986Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Geregu I Power Station- PrivatizedGereguKogi StateSimple cycle gas turbine414 MWPartially operational2007Oben-Geregu pileline, Oben gas plant
Geregu II Power Station(NIPP)GereguKogi StateSimple cycle gas turbine434 MW [19]Partially operational2012Oben-Geregu pileline, Oben gas plant
Ibom Power Station (IPP)Ikot Abasi4°33′53″N7°34′06″ESimple cycle gas turbine190 MWPartially operational (90 MW)2009
Ihovbor Power Station(NIPP)Benin City6°24′20″N5°41′00″ESimple cycle gas turbine450 MWPartially operational2012-2013Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Okpai Power Station (IPP)OkpaiCombined cycle gas turbine480 MWOperational2005Obiafu-Obrikom(Ob-Ob) gas plant
Olorunsogo Power StationOlorunsogo6°52′55″N3°18′52″ESimple cycle gas turbine336 MW, (8 x 42 MW)Partially operational2007Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Olorunsogo II Power Station(NIPP)Olorunsogo6°53′08″N3°18′56″ECombined cycle gas turbine675 MW NDPHC (4×112.5 MW and 2×112.5 MW steam turbines.)Working below capacity due to gas supply issues.Partially operational2012Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Omoku Power Station (IPP)OmokuSimple cycle gas turbine150 MW (6 x 25 MW gas turbines)Rocksonengineering.operational2005Agip (Obiafu-Obrikom(Ob-Ob) gas plant)
Omoku II Power Station(NIPP)OmokuSimple cycle gas turbine225 MW (2 x 112.5 MW gas turbines)Non-operationalIncomplete
Omotosho I Power Station (FGN-Privatized)Omotosho6°44′09″N4°42′39″ESimple cycle gas turbine336 MW [35]; (8 x 42 MW)Partially operational2005Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Omotosho II Power Station(NIPP)OmotoshoSimple cycle gas turbine450 MW, (4×112.5 MW)Partially operational2012Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Sapele Power Station-PrivatizedSapele5°55′31″N5°38′44″EGas-fired steam turbine and Simple cycle gas turbine1020 MW (Phase I: 1978-1980 6 x 120 MW Gas-fired steam turbines,phase II: 1981 4 x 75 MW gas turbines)Partially operational (135 MW)1978–1981Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Sapele Power Station (NIPP)Sapele5°55′40″N5°38′41″ESimple cycle gas turbine450 MW (4×112.5 MWPartially operational2012Escravos–Lagos Pipeline System
Transcorp Ughelli Power Station (privatised)known also as Delta power station.Ughelli, Delta State5°32′28″N5°54′56″ESimple cycle gas turbine900 MWPartially Operational(465 MW)1966-1990 Plant was built in 4 phases.I: 1966 (decommissioned), II: 1975 6 x 25 MW, III: 1978 6 x 25 MW, IV: 1990 6 x 100 MWUtorogu, Ugheli East gas plant
Ibom Power Plant (AKSG)Ikot AbasiCombined cycle gas turbineIbom Power Plant presently consist of two GE Frame 6B and one Frame 9E turbine generators installed in a simple cycle configuration, using the conventional open cycle gas turbine (OCGT) technology. These three gas turbines are: GTG 1(Model PG 6551B), GTG 2(Model PG 6561B), and GTG3 (Model PG 9171E) combined to give an installed capacity of 191MW.191MWOperational Since 20092010→Uquo CPF by Frontier Oil Limited / 7E JV}
Azura Power Station (IPP)Benin City6°24’47.71″N 5°40’42.96″ESimple cycle gas turbine450 MWFully operational2018



Hydroelectric stationCommunityCoordinatesTypeCapacity (MW)Year completedName of reservoirRiver
Kainji Power StationKainji, Niger StateReservoir8001968Kainji LakeNiger River
Jebba Power StationJebba, Niger StateReservoir5401985Lake JebbaNiger River
Shiroro Power StationShiroro, Niger StateReservoir6001990Lake ShiroroKaduna River
Zamfara Power StationReservoir1002012Gotowa LakeBunsuru River

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *