CCB Gives Buhari, Osinbajo Till May 28 to Submit Asset Declaration Forms

President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, and governors and other public officers have been given till May 28  by the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB) to submit their end-of-tenure asset declaration forms.

This was stated by the CCB’s Chief Press Officer, Charity Utok in Abuja.

According to Utok, the deadline became necessary as their tenure (first or second) in office ends on May 29.

He further stated that other public officers, mainly members of the outgoing 8th National Assembly, who were inaugurated on June 9, 2015, have up till June 8, 2019, a few hours to the expiration of their tenure to declare their assets.

He pointed that those expected to declare their assets by virtue of the constitutional provision are the President, Vice-President, President and Deputy President of the Senate, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives and Speakers and Deputy Speakers of state Houses of Assembly and all members of legislative houses.

Others are Governors and Deputy Governors, the Attorney General of the Federation and Attorney General of each state, ministers, commissioners and Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

It could be noted that Paragraph 11 of Part 1 to the Fifth Schedule to the Nigerian constitution compels public officers to declare their assets to the CCB Immediately the public officers take over the office and thereafter at the end of every four years.

They are obliged to submit to the CCB  a written declaration of all his properties, assets, and liabilities and those of his unmarried children under the age of eighteen years.

Utok further disclosed that the incoming political office holders were given up to three months to make their declarations to the CCB, while the outgoing ones must do so as soon as they “step out” of office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *