History of Abuja Capital City of Nigeria

Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. It is located strategically at the center of the country lying inside the federal capital territory. Abuja replaced Lagos state as the capital of Nigeria on the 12th of December 1991. This was during the military reign of General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida. It is currently the country’s administrative and political centre. Abuja is surrounded by various States such as Niger state (west), Kogi state (south-west), Kaduna state (north) and Nassarawa state (east). It is generally known as the ‘Center of Unity’.

History of Abuja

Abuja was created in the year 1976 from parts of Nassarawa, Niger and Kogi states and is situated within the middle belt region of the country. It was in the earlier 20th century a name of a nearby town now called Suleja. The decision to move the federal capital territory to Abuja was initiated by General Murtala Mohammed in 1976 and constructions started in the late 1970s but the initial stages were not completed till the 1980s due to political and economic instability. Abuja is a special  territory of its own ,like other States of Nigeria, which are headed by elected Governors, Abuja is administered by the Federal Capital Territory Administration, headed by a minister appointed by the President.

READ ALSO>>>History of Plateau State<<<

Ethnic Groups in Abuja

The indigenous inhabitants of Abuja are the Gbagyi (Gwari) as the major language, Bassa, Gwandara, Gade, Ganagana, Koro and others. However, as a result of it been the federal capital territory, it now houses almost all tribes and ethnic groups of Nigeria such as the Igbos, Yorubas, Hausas, Tivs, etc.

Population of Abuja 2019/2020

According to the national censors of 2006, Abuja had about 1, 406,239 people living in it with an Area of 7,315 km2 (2,824 sq mi).

Local Government Areas in Abuja

Abuja comprises of six (6) local government areas namely:







Wards in Abuja

AbujaCity Center, Garki, Gui, Gwarinpa, Jiwa, Karshi, Karu, Nyanya, Orozo, Wuse
KujeKwaku, Rubouchi, Yenche, Chibiri, Gaube, Gudun Karya, Gwargwada, Kabi, Kuje, Kujekwa


Dobi, Gwagalada center, Gwako, Ibwa, Kutunku, Ikwa, Paiko, Staff quarters, Tungan maje, Zuba
AbajiAbaji  central, Abaji  north east, Abaji  south east, Agyana/pandagi, Alu mamagi, Gawu, Gurdi, Nuku, Rimba  ebagi, Yaba
KwaliAshara, Dafa, Gumbo, Kundu, Kilankwa, Pai, Wako, Yangoji, Yebu, Kwali ward
BwariBwari central, Byazhin, Duste aihaji, Igu, Kawu, Kubwa, Shere, Ushafa, Usuma, Kuduru

Major Places in Abuja

Some major places in Abuja includes Mabuchi, Wuye, Katampe, Gwarimpa and other suburban places such as Gwagwalada, Kubwa, Nyanya, Jukwoyi and Karu.

Map of Abuja

Abuja Map
Abuja Map

Economy of Abuja

Abuja is a place that has different sources of income such as real estate which is a major drive of the Abuja economy. There are also other sources such as postal system and transportation which includes Air, Highway and Railway. Abuja is also blessed with tertiary institutions that also part of its economy such as:

  • African Institute of Science and Technology
  • American International School of Abuja
  • Baze University
  • Nigerian Turkish Nile University
  • University of Abuja
  • Veritas University
  • National Open University of Nigeria
  • Nile University
  • Whiteplains British School, Jabi

Tourist Centers in Abuja

Abuja is one of the finest places to visit in Nigeria with many tourist attractions. Some of these places are:

  • Aso Rock presidential villa (official residence of the president of Nigeria)
  • NNPC Towers (Abuja)
  • Aso Rock (Behind the presidential villa)
  • ECOWAS Secretariat (Asokoro district Abuja)
  • Abuja International Conference center (Garki)
  • National Christian Centre (Abuja)
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (Abuja)
  • CBN Headquarters (Central Business District, Abuja)
  • National Mosque (Central Business District, Abuja)
  • National Library (Central Business District, Abuja)
  • Silver Bird Cinema (Central Business District, Abuja)
  • Millennium Park (Maitama District, Abuja)
  • Abuja National Stadium (Garki)
  • Zuma Rock (Suleja)

Senatorial Districts/zones in Abuja

FCT Abuja has only one which is the Federal Capital Territory sd/109/fct. This also houses the six (6) local government areas (Abaji, Abuja, Bwari, Gwagwalada , Kuje, Kwali).

Government of FCT Abuja

Unlike the other States of Nigeria, which are headed by elected Governors, Abuja is administered by the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) This is headed by a minister who is usually appointed by the President. The current minister of Abuja is Mohammed Musa Bello while the permanent secretary is Ajakaiye Babatope.

READ ALSO>>>History of Rivers State<<<

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *