Former Arsenal Player, Antonio Reyes Dies In Auto Crash Aged 35

Former Arsenal player, Jose Antonio Reyes has been reported dead having been involved in an autocrash, says Sevilla.

“We couldn’t be confirming worse news. Beloved Sevilla star José Antonio Reyes has died in a traffic collision. Rest in peace,” the Spanish club tweeted.

Reyes, 35, last played at Extremadura following a career that saw him play eight years at Sevilla and previous stints at Atlético and Real Madrid.

Reyes was a part of Arsenal’s 2003-04 squad that completed an unbeaten Premier League season, dubbed the Invincibles and in total earned 21 international caps for country Spain.

“With a broken heart, Extremadura UD announce the death of their player José Antonio Reyes in a traffic accident,” his current club tweeted. Consequently, seven matches to be played this weekend in Spain’s Segunda División have been postponed until Tuesday.

“Everyone at Arsenal is devastated by the shocking news that our former player Jose Antonio Reyes has died in a traffic collision in Spain,” North London club, Arsenal tweeted. “Our thoughts are with all his family, friends and teammates.”

“José, who was part of the Invincibles team, was a hugely popular figure at our club and will always hold a special place in our hearts. He represented the club on 110 occasions, scoring 23 times and made memorable contributions to our 49-game unbeaten run.”

The winger helped the Gunners to a FA Cup, Community shield as well as reaching the Champions league final in 2006 and former teammates Thierry Henry and Ray Parlour weren’t left out in paying tribute to the winger.

“I’m devastated to hear the sad news about José Antonio Reyes,” Henry wrote.

“Wonderful player, superb team mate and exceptional human being. I wish his family and friends continued strength and courage to get through this difficult time.

Rey Parlour added: “So sad. Team mate of mine and great talent. RIP José.”

The 35-year-old also helped Sevilla to three Europa league titles and was a part of the team that won the competition for Atletico Madrid in the years 2010 and 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *