Voting Ongoing in APC Ondo Governorship Primary Poll

Voting is ongoing in the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State.

The exercise commenced exactly 2:00 pm on Monday with some aspirants shunning the venue. Ife Oyedele, Segun Abraham and John Odimayo had earlier announced their withdrawal and endorsed Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN).

READ: Latest COVID-19 Nigeria Update

Out of the remaining nine aspirants, only four turned up at the venue of the election as at 2:00 pm when the exercise commenced. They are Akeredolu, Isaac Kekemeke, Owolabi Adelami, Olusola Iji, and Olusola Oke (SAN), who arrived later.

The chairman of the election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello, announced the commencement of the exercise, stressing that all aspirants have been given sufficient notice.

Leading aspirant, Rotimi Akeredolu during the interactive session with Yahaya Bello Committee

Bello met governorship aspirants of Ondo APC primary before the poll

He said all of them were expected to be in attendance and insisted that the election would be completed by 12 midnight as planned.

Bello had at an interactive session Sunday evening had a robust discussion with all aspirants through his committee. He pointed out that after the meeting, none of them objected to the procedure and holding of the election on Monday.

“We had an interaction with all aspirants and leaders of our great party in Ondo State yesterday (Sunday) evening. Our interactive session was smooth. So, we are all prepared for this election. After the interactive session, nobody objected to the conduct of this election.

“Aspirants have received enough notification. They are expected to be here. All agents are also expected to be here. Since we arrived here, we have inspected this venue of the election including the accreditation area in this dome.

“Ballot papers are sealed. I have not seen how they look like,” he said.

READ: Latest Nigeria News Headlines July 20 2020

Delegates from Akoko North East Local Government were called first to cast their votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *